Skip Header

You are using a version of browser that may not display all the features of this website. Please consider upgrading your browser.

UniProt Scientific Advisory Board (SAB)

Last modified January 31, 2019

The UniProt project receives advice and guidance from a scientific advisory board (SAB). The UniProt SAB consists of an international collection of experts on protein biology, bioinformatics and biochemistry, both from academia and industry. Our current SAB members are:

  • Christine Orengo (chair), University College London
  • Russ Altman, Stanford University
  • Gary Bader, University of Toronto
  • Carol Bult, The Jackson Laboratory, Mouse Genome Informatics
  • Martin Ebeling, Roche Pharmaceutical Research and Early Development, Basel
  • Fuchu He, Beijing Proteome Research Center
  • Emma Lundberg, Science for Life Laboratory, Sweden
  • Avi Ma'ayan, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai, New York
  • Maryann Martone, National Center for Microscopy and Imaging Research, University of California, San Diego
  • Sharon Plon, Baylor College of Medicine, Houston
  • Peter Robinson, The Jackson Laboratory for Genomic Medicine, Farmington
  • Paul Thomas, University of Southern California
  • Shanfeng Zhu, Fudan University

We also would like to thank the previous members of the UniProt SAB for their valuable contributions to the project:

  • Michael Ashburner (Chair 2006-2010), Department of Genetics, University of Cambridge
  • Patricia Babbitt, Department of Bioengineering and Therapeutic Sciences, University of California, San Francisco
  • Helen Berman, Department of Chemistry, Rutgers University
  • Judith Blake, The Jackson Laboratory, Mouse Genome Informatics
  • Ian Dix, Discovery Information, AstraZeneca
  • Takashi Gojobori, Laboratory for DNA Data Analysis, Center for Information Biology and DNA Data Bank of Japan
  • Minoru Kanehisa, Institute for Chemical Research, Kyoto University
  • Maricel Kann, Department of Biological Sciences, University of Maryland Baltimore County
  • Bernhard Kuester, Technische Universitaet Muenchen
  • Edward Marcotte, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry, University of Texas
  • Young-Ki Paik, Yonsei Proteome Research Center, Yonsei University
  • William Pearson, Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Genetics, University of Virginia
  • Manuel Peitsch, Scientific Computing and Bioinformatics at Philip Morris International
  • Lynne Regan (Chair 2017-2018), Molecular Biophysics & Biochemistry, Yale University
  • Philippe Sanseau, GlaxoSmithKline, Stevenage
  • David Searls, Independent Consultant, Philadelphia
  • Luis Serrano, Center for Genomic Regulation, Barcelona
  • Mathias Uhlen (Chair 2011-2016), Royal Institute of Technology, Stockholm
  • Gunnar von Heijne, Stockholm Bioinformatics Center, Stockholm University
  • Timothy Wells, Medicines for Malaria Venture, Geneva
UniProt is an ELIXIR core data resource
Main funding by: National Institutes of Health

We'd like to inform you that we have updated our Privacy Notice to comply with Europe’s new General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) that applies since 25 May 2018.

Do not show this banner again